Three GOP electors call Cobb home

Name of Publication: 
The Marietta Daily Journal
Excerpt of Article: 
Three GOP electors call Cobb home
by Kim Isaza
October 29, 2012 01:14 AM
MARIETTA — Although their names aren’t on the ballot in Georgia, when voters go to pick a president, they’re not really voting for Barack Obama, Mitt Romney or Gary Johnson, but for a group of 16 electors committed to those candidates.

Electors representing the candidate who prevails in Georgia’s popular vote will then cast their votes as members of the Electoral College on Dec. 17.

A state’s electoral votes are equal to its Congressional delegation. Georgia has 14 members of Congress and two senators, thus the state has 16 electoral college votes.

There are a total of 538 electoral votes, and a candidate must win a majority, 270, to become president.

Each political party selects its own electors, even though only one group will actually cast electoral votes. Cobb is home to three of the state’s Republican electors — Randy Evans, Sue Everhart and Toria Morgan — and four Libertarian electors.

Like most states, Georgia is winner-take-all state, which means whoever wins the state’s popular vote gets all 16 of the state’s electoral votes. Only Maine (4 votes) and Nebraska (5) allocate electoral votes through a combination of overall popular vote and by Congressional district. ...

“The popular vote nationally means absolutely nothing in picking a president,” said Andrew Pieper, Ph.D., an assistant professor of political science at Kennesaw State University. “It has no impact on the outcome of the election at all.” ...